Medical Microbiology

The department of Medical Microbiology is divided into Serology, Bacteriology, Parasitology and Mycology. Serology is located at the hospital. Bacteriology, Parasitology and Mycology are located in the laboratory at the Sasaki polyclinical building.

The department of Medical Microbiology is responsible for the detection of infectious diseases (Bacteriology, Virology, Serology, Mycology and Parasitology) and has an important role in prevention and infection control for the hospital and for the public health in general. Within the Medical Microbiology department there are 12 laboratory professionals who collectively work on high quality diagnostics.

The purpose for sending patient samples for culture, molecular detection or serological analysis to the Medical Microbiology laboratory is to detect and isolate microorganisms which are the cause of a suspected disease and to assess its susceptibility to antibiotics; and/or to detect antibodies or antigens of an infectious agent. To attain a fast and accurate result, multiple laboratory techniques are used.